My Reading Challenge 2017

Every summer, at the library where I work, there is a reading challenge that takes place for children aged between four and eleven. It is such a brilliant idea to encourage children to keep reading over the summer holidays, whilst they aren’t at school. I am always so jealous of the children being able to do something fun like this, so decided to make a challenge for myself!

cover.jpg

I took a look on Pinterest and found that this type of thing had been done before. Today I thought I would show you my challenge journal, so if you feel inspired you can make one yourself! This was the process I took to make my Reading Challenge.

1. After choosing a notepad to use, I started to decorate the pages. As you can see from the picture above I used patterned paper as a background and sticky labels to make the title.

2. I also used some craft tape to decorate the borders of the pages. I wanted my reading challenge journal to have a vintage feel, but you can decorate it in anyway you like. It’s a similar sort of thing to the Bullet Journal trend that is popular at the moment, I would recommend having a look at some pictures of those if you are stuck for ideas!

lists.jpg

3. After I had decorated the pages, I decided on my lists. This was quite a hard part as you become incredibly tempted to only write things you know you can achieve. But this is not the point of the challenge, its aim is to get you to read new things! I will write my full list down below, so scroll down to see it!

my notes.jpg

4. I made sure to leave some pages where I could write my thoughts on the books and make a note of the titles I have read. I am really enjoying the challenge, so will definitely do it again next year – I want to make sure I don’t have any repeats! The two books I have read so far are Harry Potter and the Cursed Child by J K Rowling and Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth. 

thought.jpg

If you really enjoy reading (like me) and want to set yourself a new challenge, or you need a bit of a gentle push to pick up a book then I think you would definitely benefit from this. Some of the books I am looking forward to reading this year are Hidden Figures by Margot Lee Shetterly and Into the Water by Paula Hawkins (to be released in May this year.)

Example Challenges:

  • A book with one of the four seasons in the title.
  • A book that is published in 2017.
  • A book that is becoming a movie in 2017.
  • A book set somewhere you’d love to visit.
  • A book in a genre you’d normally avoid.
  • A book with a cat on the cover.
  • A book published the year you were born.
  • A book written by a comedian.
  • Ask your friends for a recommendation.
  • A book more than 100 years old.
  • A book with bad reviews.
  • A book with a lion, a witch or a wardrobe.
  • A book with a number in the title.
  • A book by an author with your first name.

Thank you for reading my blog! I will keep you up to date with my progress on my social media pages and be sure to share your favourite books with me too!

2 thoughts on “My Reading Challenge 2017

Leave a Reply

