Gran Canaria – Part Two

Last week, I wrote my first ever post for this blog called Gran Canaria – Part One (if you haven’t read it yet, just click the link and take a look!). I was so excited to write the follow up post, as these two locations are some of the prettiest places I have ever been.

10169347_976067092428290_8757122689774462174_n.jpg

Puerto de Mogan

Puerto de Mogan is a quiet fishing village on the coast of Gran Canaria. It has a beach, but it’s main appeal is the stunning marina, where you can see all the incredible yachts and boats. The pavements are lined with whitewashed houses, that are coated with purple flowers. I love being in Puerto de Mogan as it is so peaceful and quaint. Although it is a tourist area, it hasn’t lost the appeal of a small village. You would hardly be able to imagine that the tiny streets become one of the islands biggest markets on a Friday, with a smaller crafts market on Mondays. It would be advisable to visit the market, as they are always fun and provide you with the opportunity to immerse yourself fully in the culture. However, if you are planning a market trip I would advise going on another trip to Puerto de Mogan, as you won’t get the full effect of the environment when it is so busy.

13466146_1233580383343625_6250011797804882145_n

Puerto de Mogan – From the Water Taxi

My favourite thing about this place are the houses. I think they are so pretty and have a lot of charm. I can’t express to you how calm and happy I feel when I visit this village, and I always plan a trip there when I go to Gran Canaria on holiday. If you are planning a holiday to Gran Canaria and would like to visit somewhere with a lot of character then this is the place for you. I would 100% go if you are a fan of Instagram as you will have a lot of inspiration there!

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rico, is in my opinion, the best place to stay on the island. Although, Maspalomas has it’s perks for first time visitors, young people and families, I am an old soul at heart and Puerto Rico caters for everything I like. It is a tourist area, home to many different styles of accommodation including various types of hotels and apartments, but it has managed to keep hold of some of it’s unique charm. If you do stay here, I think it is best to stay Bed and Breakfast as there are many places to eat. Going for a walk in the evening and perusing different restaurants is a lovely way to break up the night. Much like Puerto de Mogan, Puerto Rico has a marina and a beach and they provide a beautiful backdrop for walks at dusk.

11159450_976070822427917_4665241449982091980_n

Puerto Rico

There is a commercial centre in Puerto Rico that has some lovely shops, restaurants and bars. It is about a 15 minute walk away from the beach front. I personally like staying in hotels nearer the sea front (I have been to the white one on the left hand side of the picture lots of times, and will be going back this year!). This is because you are still near the entertainment but are far enough away so it’s not too loud. The beach here is incredibly stunning, and locals often go there as they agree it is one of the best beaches on the island.

10924700_976064419095224_66493183710397820_n.jpg

View from my balcony at Marina Suites – Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria.

I hope you like my posts about Gran Canaria. If you’d like, take a look at my Flickr as I have put an album on there with all my photos from Gran Canaria. If you are planning a holiday to Gran Canaria, feel free to message me or leave a comment and I will answer any questions you may have!

Thank you, I will be back next week with some new posts!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

