Portsmouth

On Tuesday this week I visited Portsmouth. The main reason behind this trip was to have a relaxing day out, take a ride up the Spinnaker Tower and do some shopping. Thankfully, the sun was shining and barely any cloud filled the sky, which meant I had the perfect weather to witness the full potential of the tower’s view.

tower

Taking the 28 second elevator ride to the top was probably the weirdest part of the whole experience. Just thinking about travelling 105m into the sky at a speed of 4 metres per second is enough to make anyone’s stomach do somersaults. It is something I could only imagine being in Willy Wonka’s Chocolate Factory.

iow

Isle of Wight in the Distance

The Spinnaker Tower has great opportunities for interaction. On each window there is a screen that helps direct you to various points of interest that you can see from each side. I think this is really helpful, especially to visitors who aren’t local to the area. My favourite bit in the Tower is the glass floor. It’s a brilliant, yet slightly sickening experience.

glass floor

I thoroughly recommend that if you have made it all the way to the top, that you should experience the glass floor. Not only to say that you have achieved it, but so you can stand smugly by the side as you watch other people panic as they walk across.

sit down

People have been known to handstand and cartwheel across the glass floor. But being as lazy as I am, I just sat down. 

The shopping centre in Portsmouth is called Gunwharf Quays. I think it is one of the best in the area. As it is an outlet, it is home to many designer shops but the prices are a lot cheaper. I think it is a lovely place to go for a treat, or if you are looking for a special gift for someone. Every time that I have visited, I have been so in awe of the shops. It’s not like any other high-street with Poundland or the carcass of a Woolworths. Here you can act like a shopping pro, dipping in and out of Ralph Lauren and Michael Kors.

shops.jpg

Gunwharf Quays is also home to a lot of amazing restaurants. I chose to eat in Jamie’s Italian, as I have been there once before and absolutely loved it. As it was a beautifully sunny day, I was able to sit outside which was delightful. I had a bread board for starter, Spicy Sausage Penne for main and to drink a non-alcoholic Berry Blast cocktail. All the food was delicious and the drink was so refreshing. I didn’t have pudding, as I was quite full, but they all looked pretty tasty too. Someone on a table near, had a brownie and I was pretty jealous. The staff were all so friendly and chatty and it was such a nice atmosphere, I would totally recommend it.

pasta.jpg

Overall, I had a brilliant day in Portsmouth. It was just what I needed to relax after all the university deadlines I have had recently!

Have you dared the Spinnaker Tower, or had a shopping trip in Gunwharf Quays? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

