Outdoor Cinema: Grease

This week, I went to my first ever Outdoor Cinema. This is something I have always wanted to do, so when I heard one was coming to my University Campus and that they were showing Grease, I immediately bought tickets. As this was my first time, I thought I would write a blog about my experience, what I did and what I wish I did.

sandy

Obviously, living in England the weather can be totally unpredictable. And on the night it rained heavily for the whole length of the film. But this did not ruin my experience at all. Here is a picture of what I packed and I will talk you through what I thought.

bag

  • Bag: I took a large and waterproof bag. This one isn’t that expensive, as I thought I don’t mind too much if it got ruined. This bag was incredibly useful and I would definitely suggest taking one.
  • Fluffy Socks: These were a necessity. With the heavy rain we had, came the cold and I really felt the benefit of having warm socks.
  • Drink and Food: Me and my friend shared some sweets and popcorn. If the weather was nice you could bring a picnic or anything. I think that is the benefit of going to an outdoor cinema you are not restricted with what to eat.
  • Large Scarf: I think it was really good to bring this along, as I used it as a blanket and scarf at different parts of the night.
  • Picnic Blanket: We bought a cheap picnic blanket with us to sit on. If you are attending an outdoor cinema it would be foolish not to take one with you.
  • Waterproof Coat: With all the rain that came, this coat was so important. Even if you are going on a sunny day, I would suggest taking a light waterproof anyway, just in case. And at the end of the day, if you get cold it is another layer.

umbrell

I really wish we had taken an umbrella with us. If it does look like it is going to rain when you go, then 100% take an umbrella with you. It doesn’t get in the way of other peoples viewing, as you can see from the photo, even though people had umbrellas I could still see clearly. I think taking an umbrella is important because it keeps a lot of space dry. Where we didn’t have one, we were restricted to sitting in one place, as if we moved we would be sat in soaking wet. A brolly would keep you drier than a coat and then you may not feel as cold.

projector

How It Worked

On arrival we traded our tickets for headphones. I wasn’t expecting this, but I thought it was brilliant. That way you could control the volume yourself, so when the songs came on you could turn it right up! It made it a more immersive experience as you could totally block out the rest of the world. Once you collect your headphones you set up where you want to sit. It was quite nice to be near an edge, as a lot of people gathered near the middle, so to go on an edge gave you a slightly better view.

And then you just sit back and relax…

marty and vince

Even thought it rained a lot, it didn’t bother me at all. I had a wonderful night and I will definitely be looking out for more Outdoor Cinema Experiences. If you live in the South of England, the company that came to my University were Hijack Cinema. But there are lots of companies up and down the country that offer a similar service.

One thought on “Outdoor Cinema: Grease

Leave a Reply

