Top Ten Songs – The Year I Was Born – 1997

I wanted to do something a bit different today and a bit of fun for me. As I am a huge fan of music, I thought it would be interesting to review the top 10 best selling songs of the year I was born. I may do something like this again, with other themes, maybe like the year I started school, or the year I left school. Any ideas or suggestions you have, please leave them in the comments.

I listened to each song as I wrote the captions, so the reactions are authentic and honest of  me at the time.

Hope you like this post and a bit of nostalgia!

(But, let’s face it, the embarrassing baby photos are what bought you here!)


1. Candle in the Wind 1997 – Elton John

I think this song, is incredibly poignant and the lyrics are beautiful. Obviously, 1997 was a year overshadowed with sadness, for those of you who are unaware, it is the year that Princess Diana sadly passed away. This year we are remembering her more than ever, on the 20th anniversary of her passing. If you are not familiar with Princess Diana, do look her up. A quick google search will prove to you why she is so well loved in this country and all around the world. Her kindness, intelligence and sense of humour is something we should all aspire to be a little more like.


2. Barbie Girl – Aqua

Click play at your own risk. I am listening to the song as I am typing this and wow, just wow. I want to hate it, like I am really trying to, but the memories attached to this song are just perfect. Every school disco this would come on, and all the children would sing along with no comprehension of what they were actually saying. Childhood.


3. I’ll Be Missing You – Puff Daddy, Faith Evans ft 112

“Isn’t this a good song…” *Beat kicks in* “Yesssssssss!”


4. Perfect Day – Various Artists

I couldn’t find much about this song on YouTube, but looking on Wikipedia at the list of names involved in the song, Lou Reed, David Bowie and Bono to name a few, it must have been pretty epic!


5. Teletubbies Say Eh-Oh – Teletubbies

An incredibly haunting piece for all the wrong reasons. What can I say, 1997 was the year of Tubbie-Mania and I confess I was one of their biggest fans!


6. Men In Black – Will Smith

Love a music video with a dance routine. And lets face it the song is absolutely class too! Still whipped out at parties every now and again and it’s a crowd pleaser! This is the kind of song you start dancing to and then catch a glimpse of yourself in the mirror and remember you just aren’t Will Smith… and you never will be.

(Note to friends – When I am on the next night out, and I’m drunk dancing to any song claiming to be ‘cool’ point me in the direction of what I just said.)


7. Don’t Speak – No Doubt

I am obsessed with Gwen Stefani, I have always been a huge fan of hers and always will be. Her style in this video is effortless, the blue dress and make up combination is insane! She is just cool. There is no other way to explain it. The song is perfect, a proper break up, scream it in the shower classic. I love it.


8. Torn – Natalie Imbruglia

I can’t believe this song is that old. I love this song, I feel like if I was going to do karaoke this would definitely be a contender for ‘my song’. Also how beautiful does Natalie look.


9. Spice Up Your Life – Spice Girls

I am so pleased Spice Girls got a mention. They were iconic. As I got older I absolutely loved Spice Girls, I had the pyjamas’s, the t-shirts, the albums. Spice Girls not only provided us with amazing songs, but a girl band with varying members. Everyone had someone to look up to. (My personal favourite was Baby Spice!). The Spice Girls didn’t come out of a mould, and I liked that.


10. Tubthumping – Chumbawamba

The official video for this isn’t on YouTube, but I do kind of remember this one, if only for the weird name! The chorus is incredibly catchy and memorable. I’d say it’s a decent song. It makes you want to sing along.


I hope you liked this post, it was certainly a dive down memory lane!

Am I pleased with the music in 1997? Yes, it’s not filled with the kind of classics I would have hoped for. For a 90’s piece there is no mention of Oasis or Blur which depresses me slightly, but the memories attached to these songs are what make up my childhood. And I don’t think that is anything to be ashamed of… right?

Let me know what you think of the songs below (dare I ask), what songs were number one the year you were born? Let me know in the comments.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Songs – The Year I Was Born – 1997

Leave a Reply

